Sportswomen’s Awards Night

Wednesday 18 November, 2020

On Friday 6 November, the College honoured the achievements of our talented athletes from Years 7 to 12 at the Sportswomen’s annual Awards Night held in the College gymnasium. We were fortunate to have three-time Olympian and Council member Mr Chris Fydler OAM as the special guest speaker who shared his insights on success in sport.

The dinner celebrates the achievements of our students and teams and gives due regard to the College values which these awardees exemplify. Awards are a way to encourage good performance and instil competitive spirit. Sport at Pymble provides a platform for girls to be challenged, to achieve and grow, and this awards dinner is designed to recognise those who compete at the highest level in their chosen disciplines.

Thank you to the Awards Committee of Mrs Katie Edwards, Mr Edwards Elwood-Hall, Mr Simon Pennington, Ms Skye Halliday, Mrs Katie White, Mrs Kate Irvine and Mrs Monique Zahra for their work behind the scenes to ensure the night was a huge success.

We would like to thank our parents for the support of their exceptional daughters and for their encouragement throughout the year.

Congratulations to all of the award winners!

Sportsgirls of the Year 2020

Amelie Yee and Imogen Gardiner

AOC Change-Maker Leadership Award

Ashlie Edwards and Mikayla Zahirovic

All-rounder of the Year

Year 7 – Tessa Newitt

Year 8 – Amber Halliday

Year 9 – Jessica Colbran

Year 10 – Cayla Phillips

Year 11 – Shivani Mehta

Year 12 – Ashlie Edwards

Team of the Year

Senior First AFL Team – Emily Bannister, Laura Papworth, Louisa Mitchell, Shivani Mehta, Abbey Lowe, Alexandria Johnson, Amy Bonthorne, Ashley James, Ashlie Edwards, Keely Rock, Summer Hall, Bo Burton, Gemma Casiglia, Rose Tate, Grace MacDonald, Tara Watson, Tess Orton, Brooke Laurie and Jessica Saunders.

Australian Representatives

Shennei Barber – Acrobatic Gymnastics

Sophie Watson – Acrobatic Gymnastics

Kennedy Cooper – Diving

Emily Pearson – Diving

Alyssa Yee – Fencing

Amelie Yee – Fencing

Scarlet Thomas – Football

Olivia Williams – Sailing

Sara Bruce – Sailing

Kyra Wheatley – Snow Sports